Connect with us

Find It

UEFA Champions League Winners And Runner Up



UEFA Champions League (UCL) is one of the most prestigious football competition in the world. UCL is an annual football competition organized by the Union of the European Football Association (UEFA). UCL is contested by the top European football clubs that is the national league champions making it the most prestigious competition in European football.

UEFA Champions League was founded in 1955 as Europeans Champions Clubs’ Cup. It was a straight knockout competition till 1992 when the competition was rebranded to UEFA Champions league permitting multiple entrants from certain countries. 

While most of Europe’s national leagues can still only enter their national league champion, Europe’s strongest national leagues now provide up to five teams for the competition. Clubs that finish next-in-line in each nation’s top level league, having not qualified for the UEFA Champions League competition, are eligible for the second-tier UEFA Europa League competition.

The UEFA Champions League have been won by 22 clubs while 12 has won it more than once. The most successful club in the UEFA Champions League is Real Madrid having won the tournament for 13 times. Real Madrid is also the first team since 1992 to win the UEFA Champions League three years in a row. Spanish clubs have the highest number of wins (18times) while England and Italy are second (12times). 

England has the highest number of wining teams which is 5.

Here are UEFA Champions league winners and runner up till date

Most Successful Teams In UEFA Champions League History

1956 Real Madrid Stade de Reims Real Madrid won 4-3
1957 Real Madrid Fiorentina Real Madrid won 2-0
1958 Real Madrid AC Milan Real Madrid won 3-2
1959 Real Madrid Stade de Reims Real Madrid won 2-0
1960 Real Madrid Eintracht Frankfurt Real Madrid won 7-0
1961 Benfica Barcelona Benfica won by 3-2
1962 Benfica Real Madrid Benfica won by 5-3
1963 AC Milan Benfica AC Milan won by 2-1
1964 Inter Milan Real Madrid Inter Milan won by 3-1
1965 Inter Milan Benfica Inter Milan won by 1-0
1966 Real Madrid Partizan Real Madrid won by 2-1
1967 Celtic Inter Milan Celtic won by 2-1
1968 Manchester United Benfica Man Utd won by 4-1 in extra time
1969 AC Milan Ajax Milan won by 4-0
1970 Feyenoord Celtic Fayenoord won by 2-1
1971 Ajax Panathinaikos Ajax won by 2-0
1972 Ajax Inter Milan Ajax won by 2-0
1973 Ajax Juventus Ajax won by 1-0
1974 Bayern Munich Atletico Madrid Bayern won 5-1 on aggregate
1975 Bayern Munich Leeds United Bayern won 2-0
1976 Bayern Munich Saint-Étienne Bayern won 1-0
1977 Liverpool Borussia M’gladbach Liverpool (3-1)
1978 Liverpool Club Brugge Liverpool (1-0)
1979 Nottingham Forest Malmo Nottingham (1-0)
1980 Nottingham Forest Hamburg Nottingham (1-0)
1981 Liverpool Real Madrid Liverpool (1-0)
1982 Aston Villa Bayern Munich Aston Villa (1-0)
1983 Hamburg Juventus Hamburg (1-0)
1984 Liverpool AS Roma Liverpool won 4-2 on penalties
1985 Juventus Liverpool Juventus (1-0)
1986 Steaua București Barcelona Steaua București 2-0 on penalties
1987 FC Porto Bayern Munich Porto (2-1)
1988 PSV Eindhoven Benfica PSV won 6-5 on penalties
1989 AC Milan Steaua București Milan (4-0)
1990 AC Milan Benfica Milan (1-0)
1991 Red Star Belgrade Marseille Red Star won 5-3 on penalties
1992 Barcelona Sampdoria Barcelona (1-0)
1993 Marseille AC Milan Marseille (1-0)
1994 AC Milan Barcelona AC Milan (4-0)
1995 Ajax AC Milan Ajax (1-0)
1996 Juventus Ajax Juventus (4-2 on penalties)
1997 Borussia Dortmund Juventus B.Dortmund (3-1)
1998 Real Madrid Juventus Real Madrid (1-)
1999 Manchester United Bayern Munich Man utd (2-1)
2000 Real Madrid Valencia Real Madrid (3-0)
2001 Bayern Munich Valencia Bayern (5-4 on penalties)
2002 Real Madrid Bayer Leverkusen Real Madrid won 2-1
2003 AC Milan Juventus AC Milan (3-2 on penalties)
2004 FC Porto AS Monaco FC Porto (3-0)
2005 Liverpool AC Milan Liverpool (3-2 on penalties)
2006 Barcelona Arsenal Barcelona (2-1)
2007 AC Milan Liverpool AC Milan (2-1)
2008 Manchester United Chelsea Man United (6-5 on penalties)
2009 Barcelona Manchester United Barcelona (2-0)
2010 Inter Milan Bayern Munich Inter (3-0)
2011 Barcelona Manchester United Barcelona (3-1)
2012 Chelsea Bayern Munich Chelsea (4-3 on penalties)
2013 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund Bayern (2-1)
2014 Real Madrid Atletico Madrid Real Madrid (4-1 in extra time)
2015 Barcelona Juventus Barcelena (3-1)
2016 Real Madrid Atletico Madrid Real Madrid (5-3 on penalties)
2017 Real Madrid Juventus Real Madrid (4-1)
2018 Real Madrid Liverpool Real Madrid (3-1)
2019 Liverpool  Tottenham  Liverpool (2-0)


Click to comment

Leave a Reply