Ranks in Nigerian Police

Just like in the Nigerian army, there are ranks for police officers in Nigeria. The Inspector General of Police is the higher rank while the constable is the least rank in the Nigerian police force.

While the Inspector General of Police is the general overseer of the Nigerian police nationwide, the commissioner of police is in charge of states. There are fifteen ranks in the Nigerian Police Force, below are ranks in the Nigerian police;

  1. The Inspector-General of Police
  2. The Deputy Inspector-General of Police
  3. The Asst. Inspector-General of Police
  4. The Commissioner of Police
  5. The Deputy Commissioner of Police
  6. The Asst. Commissioner of Police
  7. The Chief Superintendent of Police
  8. The Superintendent of Police
  9. The Deputy Superintendent of Police
  10. The Asst. Superintendent of Police
  11. The Inspector of Police
  12. Sergeant Major
  13. Sergeant
  14. Corporal
  15. Constable

There is also an administrative structure in the Nigerian Police Force. This administrative structure is divided into Departments A-G. The administrative departments of the Nigerian Police Force are;

  • A Department: Administration
  • B Department: Operations
  • C Department: Logistics and Supply
  • D Department: Investigation and Intelligence
  • E Department: Training and Command
  • F Department: Research and Planning
  • G Department: ICT


Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

error: Content is protected !!