Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria

In 1914 Nigeria was amalgamated by Lord Fedrick Lugard. However, after the Nigerian Civil war Nigeria was broken down into geopolitical zones and subsequently into states. Nigeria today has six geopolitical zones and 36 states with the Federal Capital Territory (FCT ) as the capital.

Below are the geopolitical zones in Nigeria and the states that make up those geopolitical zones.

North East

The northeastern part of Nigeria is dominated by the following tribes: Fulani, Fulfulde, Babur, Kanuri, among others. The North East is made up of Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba and Yobe

North Central

The notable languages in the north-central are Mangu, Birom, Nupe, Igala, Ebira, Tiv, Yoruba, among others. They often times referred to as the middle belt

The states located within the North central are Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau and Federal Capital Territory
North West

North West is predominantly dominated by the Hausa Fulani, Baju, Jaba, among a host of other tribes. The North Western states are Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto and Zamfara

South East

South Eastern Nigeria is home to the Igbos, South East comprises of about 5 states among the 36 states in Nigeria. The South Eastern states are Enugu, Anambra, Imo, Ebonyi and Abia.
South South

The South South is the most oil rich geopolitical zone in Nigeria. It is dominated by the the Efik, Ibibio, Ijaw, Itsekiri tribes, among others. The South South States are Akwa Ibom, Cross River, Bayelsa, Rivers, Delta and Edo

South West

South West is a geopolitical zone in Nigeria where the Yoruba tribe is predominant. It is made up of the following states, Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun and Oyo

Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

error: Content is protected !!