List Federal Government Agencies Parastatals

A Federal Government parastatal is an institution or agency owned fully or partly by the government. Sometimes people ask questions like

  • What are the government parastatals in Nigeria?
  • What are the government Agencies in Nigeria?
  • How many government parastatals are there in Nigeria?
  • How many government agencies are there in Nigeria?

There are 141 government agencies and parastatals in Nigeria which could be categorized into Aviation, Agriculture, media and so on. The following is a list of Federal government agencies and parastatals:


  1. Cocoa Research Institute of Nigeria, (CRIN)
  2. National Agricultural Extension, Research and Liaison Services (NAERLS)
  3. National Veterinary Research Institute (NVRI)
  4. Nigerian Agricultural Insurance Corporation (NAIC)
  5. National Root Crops Research Institute (NCRI)
  6. Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria
  7. Nigerian Institute for Oceanography and Marine Research
  8. Nigerian Institute for Oil Palm Research (NIFOR)
  9. Nigeria Agricultural Quarantine Service (NAQS)
  10. National Horticultural Research Institute (NIHORT)


  1. Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN)
  2. Nigerian Airspace Management Agency (NAMA)
  3. Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA)
  4. Accident Investigation Bureau (AIB)
  5. Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NIMET)
  6. Nigerian College of Aviation Technology (NCAT)


  1. National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA)
  2. Nigeria Communications Satellite Limited (NIGCOMSAT)
  3. Nigerian Broadcasting Commission (NBC)
  4. Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC)
  5. Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST)
  6. National Frequency Management Council


  1. Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON)
  2. Social Security Administration of Nigeria (SSA)
  3. Budget Office of the Federation (BOF)
  4. Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE)
  5. Bureau of Public Procurement (BPP)
  6. Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN)
  7. Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC)
  8. Debt Management Office (DMO)
  9. Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS)
  10. Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria (FMBN)
  11. Fiscal Responsibility Commission (FRC) – defunct
  12. Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission (ICRC)
  13. National Bureau of Statistics (NBS)
  14. National Council on Privatisation (NCP)
  15. National Insurance Commission (NAICOM)
  16. National Pension Commission PenCom (PenCom)
  17. National Planning Commission (NPC)
  18. National Sugar Development Council (NSDC)
  19. Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC)
  20. Nigeria Customs Service (NCS)
  21. Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC)
  22. Nigeria Investment Promotion Commission (NIPC)
  23. Nigerian Export – Import Bank (NEXIM Bank)
  24. Nigerian Export Promotion Council (NEPC)
  25. Nigeria Export Processing Zones Authority (NEPZA)
  26. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
  27. Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON)
  28. Small and Medium Enterprise Development Agency of Nigeria (SMEDAN)


  1. Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB)
  2. National Examination Council (NECO)
  3. National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)
  4. National Teachers Institute (NTI)
  5. National Universities Commission (NUC)
  6. Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN)
  7. National Business and Technical Examinations Board (NABTEB)
  8. Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC)
  9. West African Examination Council (WAEC) [52]


  1. Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR)
  2. Electricity Management Services Limited (EMSL)
  3. Energy Commission of Nigeria (ECN)
  4. National Power Training Institute of Nigeria (NAPTIN)
  5. Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC)
  6. Nigerian Content Monitoring and Development Board (NCMDB)
  7. Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC)
  8. Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority (NNRA)
  9. Petroleum Product Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA)
  10. Rural Electrification Agency (REA)
  11. Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN)


  1. Forestry Research Institute of Nigeria (FRIN)
  2. National Biosafety Management Agency (NBMA)
  3. National Environmental Standards and Regulations Enforcement Agency (NESREA)
  4. National Oil Spill Detection and Response Agency (NOSDRA)


  1. National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS)
  2. National Institute for Pharmaceutical Research and Development (NIPRD)
  3. National Agency for the Control of AIDS (NACA)
  4. National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC)
  5. National Primary Health Care Development Agency (NPHCDA)
  6. Nigerian Institute of Medical Research (NIMR)


  1. Defence Intelligence Agency (DIA)
  2. State Security Service (SSS)
  3. National Intelligence Agency (NIA)
  4. Cross River State Homeland Security (CRHS)


  1. National Judicial Council (NJC)
  2. Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC)
  3. National Judicial Institute (NJI)


  1. Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA)
  2. Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA)
  3. Nigerian Shippers Council (NSC)


  1. Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria (BON)
  2. News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)
  3. Nigerian Press Council (NPC)
  4. Nigerian Television Authority (NTA)

Science and technology

  1. National Agency For Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI)
  2. National Biotechnology Development Agency (NABDA)
  3. National Centre for Remote Sensing, Jos (NCRS)
  4. National Office for Technology Acquisition and Promotion (NOTAP)
  5. National Space Research and Development Agency (NASRDA)
  6. Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority (NNRA)
  7. Raw Materials Research and Development Council (RMRDC)
  8. Nigerian Communications Satellite Ltd (NIGCOMSAT)
  9. National Centre for Technology Management (NACETEM)

Water resources

  1. Nigeria Hydrological Services Agency (NIHSA)
  2. Nigerian Integrated Water Resources Commission
  3. National Water Resources Institute (NWRI)
  4. River Basin Development Authorities (RBDA’s)

Other government agencies are:

  1. Centre for Black and African Arts and Civilization (CBAAC)
  2. Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB)
  3. Computer Professionals Registration Council of Nigeria (CPN)
  4. Consumer Protection Council (CPC)
  5. Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC)
  6. Federal Character Commission (FCC)
  7. Federal Housing Authority (FHA)
  8. Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC)
  9. Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)
  10. Industrial Training Fund (ITF)
  11. Legal Aid Council of Nigeria (LACoN)
  12. National Agency for the Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons (NAPTIP)
  13. National Boundary Commission
  14. National Council of Arts and Culture (NCAC)
  15. National Economic Reconstruction Fund (NERFUND)
  16. National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA)
  17. National Hajj Commission of Nigeria (NaHCON)
  18. National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)
  19. National Identity Management Commission (NIMC)
  20. National Institute for Hospitality Tourism (NIHOTOUR)
  21. National Lottery Regulatory Commission
  22. National Orientation Agency (NOA)
  23. National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission (NSIWC)
  24. National Sports Commission (NSC)
  25. Nigeria Extractive Industries Transprency Initiative (NEITI)
  26. Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS)
  27. Nigerian Building and Road Research Institute (NBRRI)
  28. Nigeria Institute of Building (NIOB)
  29. Nigerian Christian Pilgrim Commission (NCPC)
  30. Nigerian Copyright Commission (NCC)
  31. Nigerian Tourism Development Corporation (NTDC)
  32. Public Complaints Commission
  33. Surveyors Council Of Nigeria
  34. National Lottery Trust Fund

Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

error: Content is protected !!